Skip to content

You can have your turkey and eat it too!

July 23, 2010
tags: ,

Turkeys are not particularly beautiful creatures.  There is no ‘awwwwww” factor when you see a turkey strutting around like there is when you see a little duck or a really colorful rooster; at least not for me that is.  Before I was vegetarian turkey was my go-to meat.  There was just something delightful about a turkey sandwich from the deli-sliced thin, a little mayo and lettuce…yum.  And then I became a vegetarian and gladly gave up my deli favorite.  Recently though I walk into a deli and my mouth waters.  My friend eats a turkey sandwich and I stare at him longingly.  Seriously, turkeys are not cute anyway so why should I care?

At the end of the day it has nothing to do with the cute factor.  On a recent trip to WFAS I had a chance to meet some gobblers in the flesh.  While there’s still no “awwwww” factor when I look at them, I am kind of in awe of them now.   They were just so cool.  They strutted around the farm meeting people and saying hello.  I also learned that the skin on turkeys’ head changes color.  In the same way a mood ring adjust to how you’re feeling the skin on a turkey changes from red to blue to white depending on if it’s distressed or excited.  Who knew?  I know I sure didn’t.

So how did I solve my drooling-all-over-deli-cases-and-my-friend’s-turkey-sandwich problem?  I went on my very own turkey hunt through the local food co-op.  Tofurkey Oven Roast finally did the trick, and it turns out that I can have my turkey and eat it too!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Patrcia Rathbone permalink
    August 1, 2010 1:13 pm

    Quorn Tur’ky Roast is fantastic also!! http://www.quorn.us/
    It’s very east to cook and has the same “bite” feeling that turkey has! An excellent vegan mayo is called Veganaise by Follow Your Heart. It’s High Omega 3! So not only is it NOT bad for you but actually good for you!! Win/Win! Also, to me, it tastes closer to Hellmann’s regular than their own healthier attempts!! :)
    I live in upstate NY (quite a bit further up than the sanctuary) and found out about you guys when I was looking at their site re: the concert by John Lennon’s son, Sean and his girlfriend, Charlotte Kemp Muhl. Hope I can go!! I am very proud of you for what you are doing for animals!! Lots of luck to you!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

